top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Marshall

Filming



We began filming on the 18th of march at 13:00. We all our equipment too the photography studio and began filming everything where the Blackmagic camera looks down o. This included splatter paintings and record spinnings. We just changed the material on the table we put the items on.


We did this first due less space needing to be lite, because we needed to complete the splatter paints so we could film them once dried and to the large camera rig provided by the photography department being available. My Assistant Camera was Amy Urquhart who provided me with great advice and help with which lenses would be appropriate with the look I wanted as well as helping move heavy equipment with me. I did not light the film using the tungsten 650 lights I originally wanted. Three white fluorescent lights were available in the photography studio, so we decided to utilise them to cut down on set up time and to make the whites really pop. I set up the black magic camera to the rig then used my DSLR hand held to get multiple angles of the paint pour. I set up my DSLR on a tripod to film steady images of the paint pour on the record spin. My hands were far too shaky and I could not move in the space so things such as the camera rig and the edge of the background could be seen. This was fixed when filming the record with the use of a tripod but I felt this ruined much of the initial paint pour.



Once completed we moved on to filming with Judes projector. I popped the camera as far back as possible to get the the entire of the projected image.

Afterwards we set up the black background and bagan to film as much as we could before 21:00 when we would be kicked out. Sadly animation was not completed so we would have to complete filming another day.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crit

With our film completed we showed it to the class and our lecturers to receive feedback. We recorded our audio for some Sue over Skype whilst Corin was done in person causing the audio to not match up

bottom of page