top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Marshall

Colour Grade

Updated: Apr 9, 2019


With the deadline coming up I began colour grading the footage now that we had a finnished picture lock. I began on Thursday but had some issues as our original picture lock loaded in as 4 by 3. We needed it as 16 by 9 so re-exported it. Sadly a day later I realised that I had Exported the Wrong sequence and so got the correct one added to davinci and copy and pasted my entire grade to that point onto the new sequence.

I focused on heightening the backgrounds and upping the colour and contrast. To change the backgrounds I added layers over the images and either darkened or lightened them depending on whether I needed them white or black. I saturated colours and the hue aswell as lighting the gain and gamma. Everything with a black background I was eventually able to look how I wanted it. the white background were much harder as it was difficult to remove shadows I wanted and or up the colour without changing the the colour of something else.

The biggest difficulty came with matching footage. DSLR and BlackMagic footage would looked complexity different with black magic appearing washed out and flat and DSLR over exposed and brightly coloured. This along with a scene of stop motion took the longest to do. the stop motion I eventually fixed but the rest a knew I was too inexperienced. Jude (our production designer) was far more proficient in Dvinci then me so he showed me the tools we needed and guided me through lightening individual colours, such as play-dow lids that were too dark. Lightining skin tones that appeared washed out and adding more life and vibrancy into the film. Most important he helped fix the paint poring sequence to keep the colours on both vibrant and match the different shades of white. once this was done we put the finished version back into Premier to fix a few edits before exporting the final version.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crit

With our film completed we showed it to the class and our lecturers to receive feedback. We recorded our audio for some Sue over Skype whilst Corin was done in person causing the audio to not match up

bottom of page