top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Marshall

Visuals meeting

Here was where I came alive. With a script firmly in place I was able to spend the precious night planning out what I wanted to use and along with my group we discussed visuals and where they should go in the scene.

For sue and Corrine we knew we wanted no talking heads and to distinguish them through the use of a white background and a black background so had that down already. Jude said he could provide props such as a lazy sun to use to spin the record so we need no worry about damaging a record player. I told the group about me and Juliet meeting over early concepts and brought up the animation suggestion. we agreed that animation would be best not with clay but with coloured play-dough representing numbers and and letters including labelling the the play-dough lids with with the letters their colour represent. We thought we should represent music and its texture through pouring sound out of instruments such as Juliets flute or my harmonica. Ruth and Juliet typed all the suggestions into where we felt they should go in the script including when we would like to cut back to them such as the idea of representing connections through a series brightly coloured of stings connected together and when we should see both the record and canvas being painted on. I had suggested that to represent music we should have the a an animation of notes appearing on blank sheet music and we improved upon it by instead making the series of connected string into the sheet music. during all of this I took quick notes on description so I could begin working on storyboards once I got home. I discussed most of my decisions with the group due to how crucial the editing would be for this film and waning to make sure I had the best idea of what the whole group thought would be the best sequence.

I discussed with Jude the importance of his projector and how things like coloured writing and quick animation of shapes and lines twisting would work well. Juliet said it would be best to do the time line stuff with the projector rather then practical with storing as had been previously thought. Juliet also had the great idea to use both herself and Jude as models to represent Sue and Corrine respectively. With all the information laid out and a detailed list of visuals and where each should go with each line of the script I went off to storyboard. My storyboards were rough and looked incredibly poor due to a lack of drawing experience and myself being under a time restriction. However I got them sent off to ruth quickly and prepared myself for the shoot to come.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crit

With our film completed we showed it to the class and our lecturers to receive feedback. We recorded our audio for some Sue over Skype whilst Corin was done in person causing the audio to not match up

bottom of page