top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Marshall

Taster Edit


The biggest issue I faced this weekend whilst editing was in deciding what to include. Callum provided a detailed plan for how thought it should be edited but much of it didn't work for me. He wanted some shots that are only seen at the end to show case the loneliness and weight on the characters heads where they re shrunk into the corner of the screen but this was too jarring. It didn't fit in earlier and everyone I showed it to said it took them out of the film and interrupted the flow of the editing. Another issue is that Our female chatter Jo looks away from Geoff to her left, but as she is on the left hand side of Geoff it means they are always looking in the same direction. This creates strange effect. I don't like cutting to a two shot at the end as I feel it also interrupts the flow and should have not cut and let the shot play out. I also had to cut down a few lines to make sure we got as much of the film in as possible and was still within the 2 minute maximum. In the end I got it to 2 minutes and 8 seconds. Overall im not sure with our film but as this is just a short taster of what we want to do I think the roughness can be excused and we may get one or two interested. I don't thin it will be the best but I still hope to continue with this concept and make it into our main project.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

29th/04 Crit

We screened our film for class and as worried much of it was too confusing for the audience. As we knew what was happening we forgot to think of the audience. It was pointed out that although are film

24/04 Film Viewing

I had not been to involved with the post production aside from making sure everyone was on schedule and providing archive footage to use during the cinema scene to our editor. Because of this I had se

22/03 Cinema Shoot

Today was a repeat of the 20th as we began shooting the final parts of our film. I learnt my oil rig light s are still useful and had been used for this scene as well. I was meant to help with product

bottom of page